5th October 2022,
डॉ. बी.आर. अम्बेडकर राष्ट्रीय विधि विश्वविद्यालय, सोनीपत

 || नीयते विवक्षितार्थः अनेन इति न्यायः ||

Academic Council

The Academic Council of the University is responsible to manage the academic affairs of the University as per University Act, Statutes and Regulations. The Vice Chancellor is the Chairperson of the Academic Council. Director General/Director Higher Education, Haryana, Nominee of Bar Council of India, all the Deans of faculties and all the Head of the Departments and others as per University Act are the members of the Academic Council.

The Academic Council shall have the following powers and functions, namely:-

a) to report on any matter referred or delegated to it by the Governing Council or the Executive Council;

b) to make recommendations to the Executive Council with regard to the creation, abolition or classification of teaching position of the University and the qualifications, emoluments;

c) to promote research within the University and to require from time to time, reports on such research;

d) to consider proposals submitted by the faculties;

e) to lay down policies for admission to the University;

f) to recommend recognition of diplomas and degrees of other University and institutions and to determine their equivalence in relation to the certificates, diplomas and degrees of the University;

g) to fix, subject to any conditions accepted by the Governing Council, the time, mode and conditions of competitions for fellowships, scholarships and other prizes and to recommend for award of the same;

h) to make recommendations to the Executive Council with regard to the appointment of examiners and, if necessary, their removal, fixation of their fees, emoluments, travelling and other expenses;

i) to recommend arrangements for the conduct of examinations and the dates for holding them;

j) to review the result of the various examinations or to appoint committees or officers to do so, and to make recommendations regarding the conferment or grant of degrees, honours, diplomas, licences, titles and marks of honour;

k) to recommend stipends, scholarships, medals and prizes and to make other awards in accordance with the Regulations and such other conditions, as may be attached to the awards;

l) to approve or revise lists of prescribed or recommended text books and to publish the syllabus for the prescribed courses of study;

m) to approve such forms and registers as are, from time to time required by the Regulations;

n) to formulate, from time to time, the desired standards of legal education to be adhered in drawing up the curriculum/syllabi for being taught in the University; and

o) to perform, in relation to academic matters, all such duties and to do all such acts as may be necessary for carrying out of the provisions of this Act and the Regulations made thereunder.

List of Members of Academic Council as on date:-

Sr. No.

Name of the Member


(Mrs.) Dr. Viney Kapoor Mehra
Vice-Chancellor Dr. B.R. Ambedkar National Law University, Sonepat
Prof. (Dr.) Rajendra kumar Anayath
Vice-Chancellor, Deenbandhu Chhotu Ram University of Science and Technology, Murthal, Sonepat
Prof. Raj Kumar
Vice-Chancellor, Panjab University, Chandigarh
Prof. Amarjit Singh
Chairman & Professor, Department of History, Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra
The Director General, Higher Education, Panchkula, Haryana
Sh. Partap Singh
Advocate, (Nominee) The Chairman, Bar Council of India
Visits:20 Today: 5
Scroll to top